2017-2018 Catalog 
    Apr 17, 2021  
2017-2018 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

General Information


President’s Leadership Council

Drew Van Horn, B.A., M.Ed., Ph.D. President
C. Brooks Seay, B.B.A., J.D., M.B.A., Ed.D. Vice President for Finance and Operations and Chief Financial Officer
Benny Ferguson III, A.A., B.A., M.M., Ph.D. Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs
James P. Owen, III, B.S. Vice President for Advancement
Ken W. Faneuff, B.S. Vice President for Campus Technology
Clayton Daniels, B.A. Vice President for Enrollment Management
Rosemary R. Royston, A.S., B.A., M.A.O.M., M.F.A. Vice President for Planning and Chief of Staff
Randy Dunn, B.S., M.Ed. Director of Athletics

 Deans, Department Chairs and Program Coordinators

 Division of Education

Dean, Division of Education Karynne Kleine

Division of Fine Arts 

Dean, Division of Fine Arts Christopher Crawford
Department Chair - Art J. Ted Whisenhunt
Department Chair - Music Edwin Sandy Calloway
Department Chair - Theatre Anne Towns
Program Coordinator - Music Education Shelley Sanderson
Program Co-Coordinator - Musical Theatre Chris Crawford; Jeff Bauman

Division of Humanities 

Dean, Division of Humanities Mark Rollins
Department Chair - Communication Studies Chris Richardson
Department Chair - English Eloise Whisenhunt
Department Chair - Foreign Language Diana Santiago
Department Chair - Religion and Philosophy N. Eric Dickman
Program Coordinator - Creative Writing Chelsea Rathburn
Director - Interdisciplinary Studies Claudie Massicotte

Division of Mathematics and Science

Dean, Division of Mathematics and Science Linda Jones
Department Chair - Biology Paul T. Arnold
Department Chair - Chemistry and Physical Sciences Margaret L. Forrester
Department Chair - Mathematics Christopher Sass
Program Coordinator - Environmental Science Johnathan Davis

Division of Social and Behavioral Science

Dean, Division of Social and Behavioral Science B. Lee March
Department Chair - Business and Public Policy Nathan Gray
Department Chair - History Matthew Byron
Department Chair - Outdoor Leadership Joseph Pate
Department Chair - Psychology Rolando D. Tiu
Program Coordinator - Appalachian Studies and Community Engagement Bethann Bowman

Information Services

Dean of Library Services Debra March


How to Use this Catalog

The Young Harris College Catalog describes the College’s degree programs, course offerings, faculty, policies, facilities, and services. The statements set forth in this catalog are for information purposes only and should not be construed as the basis of a contractual agreement between the student and the institution. The College reserves the right to make any necessary changes in the calendar, regulations, student charges, or courses of instruction announced in this publication at any time and without notification to students. While academic advisors should be consulted, students are ultimately responsible for keeping themselves apprised of requirements in degree programs.

Equal Opportunity

Young Harris College (“the College”) is committed to maintaining a fair and respectful environment for living, work, and study. To that end, and in accordance with federal and state law, and College policy, the College prohibits any member of the faculty, staff, administration, student body, or visitors to campus, whether they be guests, patrons, independent contractors, or clients, from harassing and/or discriminating against any other member of the College community because of that person’s race, sex (including sexual harassment), sexual orientation, ethnic or national origin, religion, age, disabled status, or status as a disabled veteran or veteran of the Vietnam era. Incidents of harassment and discrimination will be met with appropriate disciplinary action, up to and including dismissal from the College. Every member of the Young Harris College community is expected to uphold this policy as a matter of mutual respect and fundamental fairness in human relations.

Every student of this institution has a responsibility to conduct himself/herself in accordance with this policy as a condition of enrollment. Further, every Young Harris College employee has an obligation to observe this and other policies implementing federal and state law as a term of employment, including the administration of the College’s education policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, athletic programs, and other College-administered programs.


Young Harris College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award baccalaureate degrees.  Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Young Harris College.

Young Harris College is an accredited institutional member of the National Association of Schools of Music [11250 Roger Bacon Drive, Suite 21, Reston, Virginia 20190; 703.437.0700].

Young Harris College is endorsed by the University Senate of The United Methodist Church as an affiliated United Methodist institution.